Disbale the 'Some settings have been reset' "feature"
Author: emmi-ariCreated Apr 7, 2026Updated Sep 16, 2026
Sometimes it happens that I open my browser and get greeted by the message that "some settings have been reset", with the reason that settings might have been changed outside of the browser. I understand that this is a security feature, however this "feature" regularly resets all my settings. Having to reconfigure my entire browser, find a list of all extensions I had installed and reinstalling them and reconfiguring them is utterly irritating. Chromium resetting everything has happened on following occasions:
- Changing browser flags
- Updating registry values for app compatibility mode, for applications that are not related to chromium in any way
- Uninstalling TerraCopy
- Changing attributes of a folder inside the chromium data directory (
%localappdata%\chromium\User Data)
Is there any way to disable this intrusive behaviour, either by policies or by some other way?
I'm so fed up.
Source: ungoogled-software/ungoogled-chromium