#5764·photoprism

People: Prevent merging two people when reassigning a face

Author: lazyeugeneCreated Aug 4, 2026Updated Sep 16, 2026
Labelsuxtestedfaces

What is not working as documented?

It is possible by editing face on people tab of photo to merge two persons in one.

How can we reproduce it?

  1. Go to photo tab 'people' with at least one face.
  2. If face is associated with person - clear the association
  3. Assign the face to first person. Sometimes operation completes fast, then go to step 2. Sometimes operation takes significant amount of time, then go to step 4.
  4. Go to the next or prev photo by clicking arrows in the top right corner.
  5. Go to the original photo clicking next/prev arrow in the top right corner.
  6. If operation is already completed, go to step 2.
  7. Wait until assignment operation finished. The person select under the photo will be empty, but in database the face is already assigned with a person.
  8. Enter in person select another person. When operation completes, the persons are merged together in one of them. I had two persons with roughly 5000 faces each, and they have merged together silently without any warning.

Have you verified that no similar reports exist?

  • This is a new bug that has not yet been reported or documented

What behavior do you expect?

I expected that only currently editing face would be affected.

What could be the cause?

No response

Which software versions do you use?

  • PhotoPrism® CE Build 260728-bbde8f452
  • MariaDB 11
  • Docker
  • FireFox 153.0.1
  • uBlock origin (disabled on my photoprism installation site)

On what device is PhotoPrism installed?

  • Docker on Synology NAS DS224+ (Intel Celeron):
  • 16G RAM
  • Storage HDD

Do you use a reverse proxy, firewall, VPN, or CDN?

Caddy as reverse proxy, no VPN no CDN

Logs, Sample Files, or Screenshots

No response