#1522·overleaf

"Restore project" breaks version comparison

Author: MikhailRyazanovCreated Sep 9, 2026Updated Sep 9, 2026

Note: I am using www.overleaf.com and did report this problem to [email protected] more than a week ago but got absolutely no reaction from them.

Steps to Reproduce

  1. Create/upload some files.
  2. Make some edits.
  3. Label a project version.
  4. Make some more edits.
  5. Choose some edit from "All history" and restore project to this version.
  6. Now all the files are marked as "Added" instead of "Edited", and version comparison with the labelled version does not work (even if the project was restored to a version after the labelled one).

Expected Behaviour

The project should be really restored to its state at the selected version. That is, preserving the status and history of all files.

Observed Behaviour

Apparently, instead of restoring, all current files are deleted, then their older versions are added anew, losing the track of changes.

Context

This breaks the project history, making version comparison unusable.

Technical Info

Does not seem relevant, but I can provide more details if needed.