KeeShare overwrite file prompt is confusing
Author: jcordeiro-nowoCreated Jul 2, 2025Updated Sep 17, 2026
Labelsuxfeature: KeeShare
Have you searched for an existing issue?
- Yes, I tried searching and reviewed the pinned issues
Brief Summary
When editing a group, on the tab "KeeShare" writing anything on the password field will cause the file on "path" field to be rewritten even without pressing OK or Apply.
Steps to Reproduce
Create a group go to KeeShare tab Choose a existing keepass file on "path" Select "Syncronize" on "Type" Write anything on the password Wait 10 seconds without pressing "OK", "Cancel" or "Apply" Press "Cancel" Check the file selected and how it changed (often resetting the file to a blank keepass file)
Expected Versus Actual Behavior
The expected behavior would be for the UI to wait for OK or Apply before changing anything. And maybe ask the user in case it is going to overwrite a exiting file.
KeePassXC Debug Information
KeePassXC - Version 2.7.9
Revision: 8f6dd13
Qt 5.15.11
Debugging mode is disabled.
Operating system: Windows 11 Version 2009
CPU architecture: x86_64
Kernel: winnt 10.0.22631
Enabled extensions:
- Auto-Type
- Browser Integration
- Passkeys
- SSH Agent
- KeeShare
- YubiKey
- Quick Unlock
Cryptographic libraries:
- Botan 3.1.1Operating System
Windows
Linux Desktop Environment
None
Linux Windowing System
None
Source: keepassxreboot/keepassxc